Lace Obsession

March 19, 2009 at 5:45 pm 1 comment

OK this lace thing is way more serious than I originally thought.  It’s all I think about, day and night.  I wake up and get ready for work, hoping the day goes by fast so I can get home and knit.  Then when I get home I switch to my sweats, grab a diet coke (can’t knit without that) and then assume the position on the couch.  Days turn to weeks and weeks are for waiting for the weekend when I can spend some serious time with my needles.  I’ve stopped cooking dinner and lost 3  pounds.  A mountain of laundry awaits and the animals are no longer speaking to me.  Hmmmm.  Maybe a new diet book in the making here but that would take time away from my precious lace.

So I’ve made it through all of the budding lace repeats of this shawl.  It seemed small to me so I decided to be brave and go for enlarging it.  I’ve completed that part and have attempted to move on to the Lily of the Valley border.  Sadly, I have encountered “the nupps”.  Dreadful nasty little things that are 5 stitches in one on the front and then you have to purl all 5 together back into one stitch on the back.  Nancy Bush makes it look so simple but believe me they are far from easy.  So I knit a few rows with the nupps and realized that they looked like bad hair sticking out everywhere so I ripped back.  With new knowledge and confidence I began again (the first 2 rows are only knit & purl so I’m safe there).  I got all the way through the first set of nupps and found 4 that I had missed a loop on and so had this little thumb looking thing sticking out of them.  No way was I ripping but if I had only known then what I know now.  I tried to correct them on the next row.  No can do and I still ended up ripping.  I started yet again and made CERTAIN that I had all of the loops for each nupp.  I made it through the first set.  Whew.  Oops no I missed one and “tinked” (that’s “knit” backwards) ever so carefully back to the nupp and re-did it.  Now I’m all done with these two rows again for like the 6th time and I’m off a stitch.   Right now I think I just need to chill the hell out but I can’t.  It calls to me in my sleep. 

Gaylen, honey I’m so sorry.  Lace has turned me into a flake.  I hope ya’ll are all doing well over there in sock land.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Might As Well Face It I’m Addicted To Lace Well Dang I’m Bad!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. gaylen  |  March 22, 2009 at 3:12 am

    It’s okay, You know you can always knit socks with lace. Then you can manage both obsessions and have a different project when one needs a time out 🙂 g

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Flickr Photos

Pages


