A Long One

July 15, 2009 at 4:18 pm 2 comments

This week my little world has been rocked by two people.  It’s a sad but somehow sweet and uplifting story about two completely unrelated deaths. 

The first is a second grader who has been suffering from cancer for 4 years now.  He made it home to rest with the Lord last Friday and the services were yesterday.  I did not know him.  Since I did not know him you might be asking why is she writing about this?  I am writing about this because I happen to work at a church – the church where the funeral services were held.  Our church has been praying for this family for many years.  Yesterday was a long and difficult day around here let me just tell you.  As I was walking through the general area I went outside where a group of  children were laughing and running and playing and I thought to myself, “these people inside will never get the opportunity again to hug their son or see him run and play even just one more time”.  Death is pretty final that way.  On the other hand it is such a blessing to know that this child is finally free of all suffering.  In the last four years this little boy spent 220 nights in a hospital, endured more than 40 blood transfusions, 2 dozen platelet transfusions, 25 rounds of chemo, 14 surgeries, 2 bone marrow transplants and countless procedures throughout the US and Guatemala.  So, when I say free of suffering I’m not just throwing out lip service here.  My heart and prayers go out to this family and my hat goes off to them for giving it their all.   Needless to say that was my wake up call to take lunch home and hug my own two kiddos and be truly grateful for what I do indeed have if you know what I mean.  I am blessed and I am a better person because of what I witnessed here yesterday.

Now, the second is a little closer to home.  My son is a boy scout.  I love my boy scout.  As fate would have it this year he did not attend summer camp.  So it was that we were home last Friday evening when we got the call letting us know that there had been a rafting accident in the mountains.  The raft hit a rapid, and overturned.  All of the rafters swam to shore OK but then one of the dads began to feel ill.  He suffered a heart attack and died on the shore.   So, after a long day at work I went home to grab a quick dinner and off we went to the Vigil for my son’s Assistant Scout Master.  My son was hesitating and I knew he was not comfortable going.  I said, “Son let me tell you that there are some things in life that  you do not want to do but too bad – you do them anyway because they are the right things to do”.   We arrived a little early and the boy of the deceased (my son’s fellow scout and friend) was on us before we could get in the door.  He was embracing my son and telling him how good it was to see him, and how much they had missed him on this trip.  Wow.  My heart goes out to this family and wow – what a young man indeed!  Shortly afterwards the other scouts came in one by one and we all went inside to sit together.  As we were all sitting there I was overwhelmed by the sense of friendship and connection we all shared.  My son has been involved in scouts since kindergarten and so many of us have been together for 10+ years now – through good times and bad we’ve watched our kids grow.  My friend Jamie came in and it dawned on me that this was not the first time she and I attended a funeral together.  When our boy’s 5th grade teacher passed (gosh has it been 4 years already?) we were there.  We have been there through pinewood derby’s and chili cook-offs, surgeries, PTA sales and birthday parties too.  I took immense comfort in these friendships around me, solid as a rock, and I know my son felt it as well.  The service was absolutely beautiful and truly a celebration of how great this man had been but on a more personal level somehow my son and I were blessed in a way words can not describe.  On the way home my son (who was so glad he went after all) said, “Wow Mom, I hope when I die I leave that kind of legacy and people remember me so fondly”.  I quickly instructed him in no uncertain terms that he was NOT  to die before me and then said “but Son, if you died tomorrow you already have”.

Feeling very blessed in Dallas today.

Entry filed under: Texas.

Thank You SandraSingh.com! She Wore A Raspberry Beret

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. gaylen  |  July 16, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    Wow! What a rough day. You are raising good kids. Enjoy them and hug them often – even when they don’t want to be hugged. g

    Reply
  • 2. Sandra Singh  |  July 23, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    How tragic, but I’m impressed with the important lessons you’re teaching your son. God Bless.
    Sandra

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Flickr Photos

IMG_20140401_195146_643

More Photos

Pages


