Fast Food Nation Indeed

August 12, 2009 at 10:08 pm 6 comments

I haven’t read the book.  I haven’t seen the movie.  But I seem to have developed a fast food addiction.  Now I can’t be alone in this because all one needs do is Google it and a plethora of information abounds.  There are articles from USAToday, Yahoo, and even a 7 Step program exists on wikihow describing how to overcome an addiction to fast food.  There are tests you can take to determine if you are addicted, and to what extent.  So here’s the deal.  I’m a single mom.  I live off of one income.  I’ve got 2 kids and life is expensive.  Lately I’ve been feeling as pinched as the next guy in the finance department if you get my drift.  I was whining to Mom about it the other night and she said, “you know……. I’ve been thinking and I honestly don’t see where all your money goes.  You do a good job of keeping bills in line and credit down and you make “x” so you should have enough”.  She does not know the extent of my yarn expenses and let’s just keep it that way shall we?  I mean what’s the point of living single if you can’t have your secrets?  Back to the story.

So, knowing she was right I started wondering where DOES my money go?  Yesterday I figured it out.  I went to check my bank balance and was shocked, (SHOCKED I say) to discover that I had a big fat goose egg in there.  With a heavy heart I logged off and tried to figure out what to do until Friday.  I mean I’ve got savings and I’ve got overdraft so it’s all going to be OK but I just couldn’t believe my entire paycheck was gone.  I even went back in to double check.  It was at this point that I began to really look at my expenses.    A few fast reports later and here is what I found in the dining out/fast food department:  January $256, February $276, March $381, April $429 (gasp), May $247, and June $372.  I have not put July in yet but why bother?  I think we all know there is a problem here.  Since I’ve got teenagers who do not go to sit down restaurants let me assure you that every penny is drive through or donut expenses.  So yesterday morning I made a decision.  No more fast food, period (until the end of the year at least).  Good-bye Ronald McD.  So long King, asta la vista little dog.  It’s been fun but I am through with you.   The kids were sad until I agreed to split the savings with them.  Now they are trying to come up with creative ways to make dinner fast and easy without the drive-through.   They are scanning the grocery aisles for fresh new ideas.  Have I told ya’ll lately what great kids I’ve got?  If any of you have advice for us in how you fix fast meals at home and avoid the drive-through we are open for suggestions and we’d love to hear from you.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Oh The Things You Can Think Will Blog for Free Set!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Darcy  |  August 13, 2009 at 12:25 am

    fix it and forget it crock pot meals just throw the frozen meat and your veggies in the crock pot in the morning and by dinner you have a meal ready to eat;)hugs Darcy

    Reply
  • 2. chanknits  |  August 13, 2009 at 1:02 pm

    I like skillet meals. I’ll have to round up some recipes for you!

    Reply
  • 3. texanknits  |  August 13, 2009 at 1:48 pm

    You guys are the best. I knew there would be some great ideas and help if I fessed up 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. gaylen  |  August 14, 2009 at 3:23 pm

    http://crockpot365.blogspot.com/

    She has some lovely recipes on the year of crockpot blog, but watch out for some of them. Also – I really like Robyn Miller from the food network – she has great recipes.

    That’s all I’ve got. Let me know what you come up with. g

    Reply
  • 5. Sandra Singh  |  August 30, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    How about grilling out in the eves when it cools down. Home made hamburgers are so much better than the fast food variety and you control the meat and condiments. Plus corn on the cob, yum, I’m getting hungry just thinking about it.

    Reply
    • 6. texanknits  |  August 31, 2009 at 11:05 pm

      That does sound good. We love grilled burgers and corn on the cob too! Thanks for the memory. Maybe even some home made ice cream –

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Flickr Photos

IMG_20140401_195146_643

More Photos

Pages


